2023 Election Results

The APA Nominations and Elections Committee is appointed each year in January as required by the Constitution and Bylaws.  The committee will determine the timeline and dates of the election and communicate information to the membership including how many positions and what type are open and explain the nominations and elections process.

Since the APA is part of the Michigan Education Association and the National Education Association, there are duties associated with these affiliates which include evening and weekend events including the Representative Assemblies and other appropriate meetings to keep the APA informed of actions by these bodies.

Nominations were open until 5pm February 20, 2023 for the APA Election being held March 21 through March 30, 2023 4:00 p.m.

The 2023 election included:

APA Executive Board

Five (5) three-year positions on APA Executive Board serving 9/1/2023-8/31/2026

MEA and NEA Representative Assembly Delegate/Region Council Delegate

Four (4) three-year positions serving 9/1/2023-8/31/2026

Individuals must be APA members in good standing to nominate or be nominated for office.

Please find below the 2023 APA Election results as announced at a Zoom tabulation that occurred at 4:05 pm on March 30, 2023. A total of 265 ballots were cast in this year’s election. Candidates are listed in the order of highest to lowest votes received. Next to each candidate’s name is the number of votes received:

Five 3-year terms on APA Executive Board (2023 – 2026)
Patricia Hampton – 221
Nicole Proctor-Kanyama – 207
Gerlind Kiupel – 201
Elbony Hawkins – 185
Shannon McGaughey – 138

Candidates unsuccessful in seeking election
Sally Gatlin – 123
Aaron Richmond – 67
Write-in: 4

Four 3-year terms for MEA/NEA RA Delegate (2023 – 2026)
Jamie Lynn-Marks – 196
Patricia Hampton – 176
Nicole Proctor-Kanyama – 171
Elbony Hawkins – 118

Candidates unsuccessful in seeking election
Gerlind Kiupel – 95
Jeff Wilson – 88
Shannon McGaughey – 81
Write-in: 4